Rep. Sloan at Federal Communications Commission

Rep. Tom Sloan (R, Lawrence) participated in the Federal Communication Commission's (FCC) Intergovernmental Affairs Committee (IAC) and met privately with Commissioners and staff members on issues important to Kansans. In addition to receiving briefings by FCC staff members on transition from legacy communication technologies to Internet-Protocol-based services, Next Generation 911 services, and standardization of emergency communication systems, the IAC approved recommendations to the FCC on proposed rules affecting local governments' ability to regulate the siting of wireless towers on the basis of protecting public safety, community standards, and protection of sensitive areas.

The IAC has issued 15 recommendations to the FCC during the past two years on matters important to state, local, and tribal governments and the citizens they represent. "As the only state legislator who participates regularly in IAC discussions and drafting policy recommendations, Kansans benefit because our issues of making high speed Internet service available to all, protecting local control of rights-of-way, supporting deployment of a more robust E-911 public protection program, and more are presented to the FCC Commissioners and staff," Sloan said.

Rep. Sloan also met with FCC Commissioners to discuss how FCC changes to the Universal Service Fund (a surcharge on all telephone bills) can benefit Kansans currently unable to receive broadband for access to education, health care, employment, and recreation opportunities. "I reminded the Commissioners that two former Commissioners visited Kansas at my invitation for discussions about the needs of our residents," Sloan said. "I stressed that Kansans believe that working with federal regulators, telecommunications companies, state policymakers, and consumer interests is the correct way to advance public policies and benefits. I invited Commissioners to visit Kansas and participate in developing partnerships."

Rep. Sloan is Chairman of the Vision 2020 Committee and a member of the Transportation and Agriculture & Natural Resources Committee. He is serving his 10th term in the Kansas House of Representatives.